top of page

Ring of Storms - Writing Group Story.

Hello Everyone,


I wanted to share one of my story from my writing group I am in. Let me know what you thin and I will share more of these stories soon.


Ring Of Storms


One day while walking along the boardwalk, taking in the salty air of the sea; A group of four friends walked along the path before them. One was in a wheelchair. She was very smart but shy. She had long brown straight hair and brown eyes. Her skin was a nice light rose colour. and freckles dance upon her small nose. Her name is Amelia. A girl stood beside her with a small yorkie dog in her arms. The dog had a harness around it that read emotional support. The girl had light golden skin, blue eyes and wavy medium blond hair that was a medium length ending by her shoulders. Her name is Krista. Next was a pair of fraternal twins. They both had black hair as dark as night. But, the boy’s hair was curly and cut very short while the girls hair was cut short to her ears and slightly curly. They both had one eye that was brown and one eye that was green like emeralds. Their names were Luka and Luna. The group kept walking along the boardwalk when they noticed something. A small pop up shop that sat near the path, leading to the beach which was paved. People avoided the elderly woman and kept to themselves. She wore raggedy clothes with holes in them and a navy blue bandana on her head. “I wonder why people keep avoiding her? Her stuff looks interesting.” Luna said curiously. “But, we aren’t kids anymore Luka. We’re teenagers. I am sure she is harmless.” Luna said curiously at the woman. “We should just approach strangers, Luna.” Luka said sternly. “She looks harmless, Luka. I say we should go over and see her.” Amelia said cheerfully.


The group approached the small woman’s shop and an elderly woman welcomed them. My friends and I were curious as to what the woman was selling and why people were ignoring her. The stall had a variety of trinkets, keychains, magnets, jewelry and a small bowl that had some capsules in it. “What’s in the bowl?” Krista asked curiously while petting her dog. “Ah, you to an excellent eye, young ones.” she said. “That is the mystery bowl. You pay two dollars for a capsule and you get whatever prize is inside, along with a message.” Just about when Luna was about to hand the woman a toonies when Luka stopped her. “What are you doing Luka? I want one.” Luna demanded. Luka shushed her and then looked at the woman. “Sounds interesting lady but, what’s the catch?” Luka asked. “There is no catch young one. I am just an honest woman just trying to make a living.” the elderly woman answered. “That is a bunch of bologna.” Luka said. “Don’t be so rude to her.” Amelia said angrily. “Didn’t your parents teach you any manners?” Krista questioned. “They did, but they also taught us to be cautious of strangers as well.” Luna explained. “ Well don't blame me if you get scammed!” Luka said angrily and stormed away from the group. “ ignore him. I will take two.” Luna said excitedly and handed the woman to toonies. “ Fine, if she is doing this, then I will too.” Krista said. “ All right you convinced me I'll take one too.” Amelia said.


After giving the woman their money the girls all reached into the bowl each pulling out one capsule. Luna pulled out an extra one so she made sure had two. “ Should we open them here? Why did you get another one Luna?” asked Amelia. “I got another one for my brother. He won’t admit it but, he does like these kinda things.” “Nah, let's find grumpy pants first and then we can open them all together.” Krista said sarcastically. The trio thanked the woman and then walked away from her booth searching for Luca along the boardwalk. After a few minutes of searching, they found Luca sitting on a bench at the end of one of the boat launches, staring at the water. “ Luka we found you!” Exclaimed Luna as she ran towards her brother. “What do you want?” said Luka In an angrily tone. Luna handed him one of the capsules she bought from the shopkeeper. “Why did you get me one of these? I told you it is just a scam.” Luca said. “ But, I know you like these even though you say it is a scam. I know in your heart you enjoy the mystery.” Luna said to her brother. “Yeah Luca. we know you really like these.” said Amelia. “They may be a waste of money or have something interesting inside.” Krista said excitedly. “Come on Luca. Let's open them all together.” Luna said excitedly as she held her capsule tightly in her hand. “All right, I guess I'll open one of these stupid things with you.” Luca said as he caved to his twin sister’s demand.


The group huddled together anxiously waiting to open their capsules. “ All right everyone. one, two, three!” Luna said excitedly as the group opened their capsules. Each individual of the group opens their capsules. The wind blew through their hair and the smell of the Salty Sea Water tickled their noses. “ I got half of a best friend necklace!” exclaimed Amelia. “ Hey, that's what I was about to say!” exclaimed Krista as she showed off her necklace. It looked like a blue tear drop. Amelia held hers up against it. It matched it perfectly except, her necklace charm was half of a daisy flower. “ I got one of those mood rings I think.” Luka said as he held up a black band that had a charm on it. The charm was shaped like a shark tooth. in the center of the charm was a little half semi sphere that had the colour orange shining through it. There was a piece of paper in the capsule and Luka pulled it out. “It is glowing orange. What does that mean?” asked Krista. “The paper says that orange means troubled. That's weird.. I am not troubled at all. This thing must be broken.” Luka said while reading the paper. As like on cue as soon as he finished reading the paper. The wind picked up slightly as the breeze felt cooler. The group unnerved by the wind change was more focused on their prizes. “What did you get Luna?” asked Amelia. “I got a cute mood ring.” Luna said as she showed off her ring. It was a simple sterling silver ring that was shaped like a crescent moon. “That fits you perfectly!” exclaimed Krista. “What does yellow mean Luna?” asked Amelia. She unfolded the small piece of paper and looked at the chart. “The paper says that it means happiness. Well, I am happy because I am with my friends. So, that is pretty accurate. "Luna said happily. Just like that the wind calmed into a gentle breeze, the cloud faded from grey to a nice fluffy white, and the warmth from the sun peeked through the clouds and shined upon the group. “I guess the weather doesn’t know what it wants to do today?” questions Luka. “I guess we better start making our way home.” Amelia said. “Hey, how about we stop by the ladies stall again?” asked Luna. “So you can get scammed again. I don’t think so. My mood necklace doesn’t even work!” Luka said, slightly agitated as a distasteful look crossed his face. “Don’t be such a party pooper. It won’t hurt if we stopped.” Krista said as she wrapped an arm around him. “Besides It’s just one those silly mood rings…what's the worse that can happen.”



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page